Are You Doing What You TRULY Want To Do With Your Life?

Happy 2017!!! Whoop Whoop!  I love this time of year because it let’s you (and I) begin anew.  We have a completely clean, fresh slate where we can write down our goals and begin to make our new dreams come true.  In just the last few days, I have been having an inner conflict and I wanted to let you know what’s going on, because I think there may be others who are going through the same thing.

Sometimes we start down a road that we THINK we want, but once we are mid-way on that road, we are unsure if this is the right road for us.  We have all been programmed since we were young to be successful, although everyone’s interpretation of success is different.  Some think large sums of money equals success, and others believe that being with loved ones and making a difference in life equals success. Whatever your thoughts and beliefs are on success are for you to decide – no one else.  Right?  YET...I see so many people not doing what they TRULY want to do in life.  They are not making the contributions they want to make and are SETTLING for a mediocre job, life and even settling for being less than happy.  I want that to change and this is important to me, because for so long I WAS that person.  I was not happy with my life professionally.  I was NOT taking aligned action and I definitely was not doing what was making me happy.  I was doing what was making my family happy.

So I traded my happiness to make them happy, but in the long run that will never work.  I can guarantee you, that if you do what others want you to do, that still small voice inside you will NOT be quiet and your dreams will get bigger not smaller.  Some excuses are:  “Your too far down the road now to make a change” – WRONG!  “Your too old” – WRONG! “You may fail” – That may be true, but you will be doing what you have wanted to do and there is nothing wrong with failing because you will learn what did not work and figure out a better way to try again.  Not to mention all the inner conflict you will have, guilt, shame and frustration because you will always be thinking “I need to try this, I know I would be good at it” and you don’t because you let fear rule your life.  You don’t want to disappoint and being a people pleaser, well, let’s just say that never worked out for me.

What dreams have been coming up for you recently?  What keeps you awake at night?  You know in your heart of hearts that the dream is something you are desperate to make happen because it would make your heart sing – even if you tried and failed, that would be better than living to please others.  Please take my advice and do what you TRULY want to do with your life.  What YOU want to do – no one else. That is why you are here after all and that is why you were created.  To do anything less will not make you happy.

So what dreams are you going to start making happen? What one step could you take today to make that dream in your head a reality?

Speaking in Baseball terms:  Remember, not trying is equivalent to complete failure because you never even tried to hit the ball.  You just sat on the sidelines, longing to play and the ONLY one keeping you on the bleachers is — YOU!   Let’s change that today!

So make the decision to put yourself in the game, on your terms and success and happiness will come to you instead of you chasing it.  PASSION CANNOT be faked.  Your passions and dreams are there for a reason – for you to make them come true.  Can I count on you to start living for YOUR dreams and no one else’s?  Now tell me what your passion or dream is that you want to start working on.  Deal?

Remember, I Believe In You (and your dreams)!

Julie

Leave a Reply

